Skip to content
Peptides Near Me
Study-reported dosing

Cagrilintide dosing in published studies (not a recommendation)

33 regimens from 14 cited studies, 33 of them in humans. Each row states what the study gave, to whom, by what route, and links to the paper. Nothing on this page is a dose for you or anyone else.

This page reports what published studies found. It is not medical advice, no provider-patient relationship is created by reading it, and nothing here is a recommendation to use any compound. Talk with a licensed clinician about your own situation. Read the full disclaimer.

Is it legal in the United States?

Checked September 16, 2026
Is it an approved medicine?
No. Cagrilintide is not an FDA-approved drug for any use.
Can a pharmacy make it?
Not on FDA's 503A lists. Not nominated for, or not currently on, FDA's list of bulk drug substances permitted for 503A compounding.
How would you get it?
Sold only as a research chemical labeled “not for human use.” No lawful prescription pathway exists for it today.

Cagrilintide is not an FDA-approved drug for any use. It is not on FDA's 503A bulk drug substances lists, and no lawful prescription pathway for a compounded version was identified at the review date. Products sold as "research use only" are not intended for human use and are not a lawful substitute for a prescription. This status comes from the site's regulatory review, not from the studies cited on this page.

Regimens the studies reported

Doses that cited studies administered to their participants. Reported as research, not recommendations.
Regimen as reportedPopulationRouteSource
Cagrilintide alone at a dose of 2.4 mg, or semaglutide at a dose of 2.4 mg combined with cagrilintide at a dose of 2.4 mg, plus lifestyle interventions, over 68 weeksThe trial randomised participants 21:3:3:7 to cagrilintide-semaglutide, semaglutide alone, cagrilintide alone or placebo.Adults without diabetes with a BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with at least one obesity-related complication (REDEFINE 1, n=3417)Not stated
Once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (2.4 mg each) or placebo, along with lifestyle intervention, for 68 weeksPatients were assigned in a 3:1 ratio to cagrilintide-semaglutide or placebo.Adults with a body-mass index of 27 or more, a glycated hemoglobin level of 7 to 10%, and type 2 diabetes (REDEFINE 2, n=1206)Not stated
Once weekly doses of cagrilintide gradually increased to 1.7 mg over 14 weeks and 2.4 mg s.c. for 2 weeks, given with semaglutide as separate injections or combined in a single injectionRegistration text describing planned administration; the listing does not report results.People with overweight or obesity enrolled in a completed phase 1 pharmacokinetic study (n=40)Subcutaneous
CagriSema 2.4 mgThe abstract reports the dose label used for stratified analysis but does not state route, schedule, titration, or treatment duration.Participants with Type 2 diabetes in the included randomized trials, compared with placebo and with dose-matched semaglutideNot stated
semaglutide 2.4 mgUsed as the dose-matched comparator in the pooled analysis; the abstract does not state route or schedule.Participants with Type 2 diabetes in the active-comparator arms of the included trialsNot stated
semaglutide 2.4 mg monotherapyThe abstract states this comparator dose but does not report the cagrilintide or CagriSema dose, frequency, route, or treatment duration.adults with overweight or obesity, with or without type 2 diabetes, in the comparator arms of the included randomised controlled trialsNot stated
cagrilintide B subcutaneously once weekly for 5 weeksThe registration excerpt states no milligram amount for this version.participants assigned to the cagrilintide B arm, described as adults living with excess body weightSubcutaneous
cagrilintide D subcutaneously once weekly for 5 weeksThe registration excerpt states no milligram amount for this version.participants assigned to the cagrilintide D arm, described as adults living with excess body weightSubcutaneous
cagrilintide and semaglutide subcutaneously once-weekly after a dose escalation period of 16 weeks during the maintenance period for 10 weeksNo milligram doses are stated in the registration text.participants assigned to the CagriSema armSubcutaneous
semaglutide and placebo matched to cagrilintide subcutaneously once-weekly after a dose escalation period of 16 weeks during the maintenance period for 10 weeksNo milligram doses are stated in the registration text.participants assigned to the semaglutide armSubcutaneous
cagrilintide and placebo matching to semaglutide subcutaneously once-weekly after a dose escalation period of 16 weeks during the maintenance period for 10 weeksNo milligram doses are stated in the registration text.participants assigned to the cagrilintide armSubcutaneous
placebo matched to cagrilintide and placebo matched to semaglutide subcutaneously once weekly for 26 weeksPlacebo contains no active ingredient, per the registration.participants assigned to the placebo comparator armSubcutaneous
CagriSema 2.4 mg/2.4 mg or placebo, plus standard of careThe abstract describes CagriSema as a fixed-dose combination administered subcutaneously once weekly; no titration schedule or treatment duration is stated.Adults with established cardiovascular disease and body mass index 25.0 kg/m2 or higher, with or without type 2 diabetesSubcutaneous
Once-weekly subcutaneous injections of CagriSema at escalating doses every week in 8-week dose escalation period until target dose (dose 1) is achieved and maintained up to 32 weeksThe registration does not state the milligram amounts of cagrilintide or semaglutide in target dose 1.Participants with type 2 diabetes treated with once-daily basal insulin with or without metformin, assigned to the CagriSema Dose 1 armSubcutaneous
Once-weekly subcutaneous injections of CagriSema at escalating doses every week in 16-week dose escalation period until target dose (dose 2) is achieved and maintained up to 24 weeksThe registration does not state the milligram amounts in target dose 2.Participants with type 2 diabetes treated with once-daily basal insulin with or without metformin, assigned to the CagriSema Dose 2 armSubcutaneous
Once-weekly subcutaneous injection of placebo matched to CagriSema dose 1 or dose 2 for 40 weeksParticipants assigned to the two placebo comparator armsSubcutaneous
CagriSema at dose level 1 once weekly subcutaneously during the treatment period for 72 weeksThe registration does not state the milligram amount corresponding to dose level 1.Participants in the CagriSema dose level 1 arm, described as people living with obesity, with or without type 2 diabetesSubcutaneous
CagriSema at dose level 2 once weekly subcutaneously during the treatment period for 72 weeksThe registration does not state the milligram amount corresponding to dose level 2.Participants in the CagriSema dose level 2 arm, listed as an active comparatorSubcutaneous
Semaglutide once weekly subcutaneously during the treatment period for 72 weeksNo dose amount is given for semaglutide in this excerpt.Participants in the semaglutide comparator armSubcutaneous
once-weekly CagriSema dose 1, administered subcutaneouslyThe registration labels this as dose 1 and does not state a milligram amount.participants with type 2 diabetes previously treated with once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutideSubcutaneous
once-weekly CagriSema dose 2, followed by dose 1, administered subcutaneouslyDose levels are given only as labels; no numbers or units appear in the excerpt.participants with type 2 diabetes previously treated with once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutideSubcutaneous
once-weekly CagriSema dose 3, followed by dose 2 and dose 1, administered subcutaneouslyDose levels are given only as labels; no numbers or units appear in the excerpt.participants with type 2 diabetes previously treated with once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutideSubcutaneous
once weekly subcutaneous (s.c.) dose of CagriSema (cagrilintide and semaglutide) in a dose escalation regimen in the main phase for up to 16 weeks and maintained for 52 weeks, then the same dose or maximum tolerated dose (MTD) in the open-label extension phase for up to 156 weeksNo milligram amounts are stated in the source text.children and adolescents with excess body weight assigned to the CagriSema armSubcutaneous
once weekly s.c. dose of cagrilintide in a dose escalation regimen in the main phase for up to 16 weeks and maintained for 52 weeks, then the same dose as the dose escalation regimen or MTD in the open-label extension phase for up to 156 weeksNo milligram amounts are stated in the source text.children and adolescents with excess body weight assigned to the cagrilintide armSubcutaneous
once weekly s.c. dose of semaglutide in a dose escalation regimen in the main phase for up to 16 weeks and maintained for 52 weeksThese participants do not continue into the extension study.children and adolescents with excess body weight assigned to the semaglutide armSubcutaneous
once weekly s.c. dose of placebo matched to cagrilintide/semaglutide in a dose escalation regimen in the main phase for up to 16 weeks and maintained for 52 weeks, then the same dose escalation regimen as CagriSema for 16 weeks and the same dose or MTD in the open-label extension phase for up to 140 weeksPlacebo is described as looking like the treatment being tested but without active ingredients.children and adolescents with excess body weight assigned to the placebo comparator armSubcutaneous
CagriSema subcutaneously once weekly in a dose escalation manner (dose increases every 4 weeks) for up to 16 weeks followed by CagriSema maintenance dose subcutaneously once weekly for 64 weeksNo milligram amounts are stated in the registration excerpt.Participants living with obesity randomised to the CagriSema arm in the main phaseSubcutaneous
1 of the 3 dose levels of CagriSema for 80 weeksThe specific dose levels are not disclosed; assignment is decided by chance.Participants randomised to the CagriSema arm who continue into the extension phaseSubcutaneous
Placebo matched to CagriSema subcutaneously once weekly for 80 weeksThese participants are described as receiving CagriSema with flexible dose escalation for 80 weeks in the extension phase.Participants randomised to the placebo comparator arm in the main phaseSubcutaneous
cagrilintide and semaglutide once-weekly after a dose escalation period of 16 weeks during the maintenance period for 52 weeks in the main phase; 97 weeks in the extension phaseThe excerpt states no milligram amounts for either component.Participants randomised to the CagriSema experimental armSubcutaneous
cagrilintide s.c. and placebo matching to semaglutide once-weekly after a dose escalation period of 16 weeks during the maintenance period for 52 weeksDouble-dummy design; no milligram amounts are stated.Participants randomised to the cagrilintide active-comparator armSubcutaneous
semaglutide s.c. and placebo matched to cagrilintide once-weekly after a dose escalation period of 16 weeks during the maintenance period for 52 weeksNo milligram amounts are stated.Participants randomised to the semaglutide active-comparator armSubcutaneous
placebo matched to cagrilintide and placebo matched to semaglutide once weekly for 68 weeksThis arm is listed as included in the extension phase for 97 weeks.Participants randomised to the placebo comparator armSubcutaneous

Syringe arithmetic for these regimens →

How to read this table

Each regimen is transcribed from the cited paper: the amount, the route and the schedule as the authors described them, and the population the paper enrolled. Amounts are not averaged, converted or extrapolated across studies, and a regimen given to rats or to two volunteers says nothing about any other group.

Rows marked as coming from a research digest were added automatically when the pipeline processed a new study; the profile rows were written by hand from the sources on the Cagrilintide profile. Both kinds carry the same citation requirement.

Common questions

What is cagrilintide?

Cagrilintide is a long-acting amylin analogue under investigation for weight management, developed as a once-weekly injection and also combined with the GLP-1 receptor agonist semaglutide under the name CagriSema (Lancet dose-finding trial, 2021; Cardiology in Review, 2023). Amylin itself is a hormone co-secreted with insulin that induces satiety and reduces body weight (Amylin review, 2024). Cagrilintide is not an FDA-approved drug.

What does the human evidence show for cagrilintide on its own?

The main published stand-alone evidence is a 26-week randomised phase 2 dose-finding trial in adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes. Mean percentage weight reductions were greater with every cagrilintide dose tested than with placebo, and greater with the highest cagrilintide dose than with once-daily liraglutide (Lancet dose-finding trial, 2021). REDEFINE 1 included a cagrilintide-alone arm of 302 participants, but the published abstract reports the weight outcome for the combination versus placebo rather than for that arm (REDEFINE 1, 2025).

How much weight loss was reported with CagriSema?

In REDEFINE 1, estimated mean percent change in body weight at week 68 was -20.4% with cagrilintide-semaglutide versus -3.0% with placebo in adults without diabetes (REDEFINE 1, 2025). In REDEFINE 2, in adults with type 2 diabetes, it was -13.7% versus -3.4% with placebo (REDEFINE 2, 2025). A network meta-analysis in type 2 diabetes ranked CagriSema highest for weight loss at -14.03 kg versus placebo (BMJ network meta-analysis, 2024), and a later analysis in adults without diabetes reported -17.32% versus placebo, behind retatrutide and tirzepatide (BMJ Medicine network meta-analysis, 2026).

How was cagrilintide given in the studies?

Trials used once-weekly subcutaneous administration with stepwise dose escalation before a maintenance period. REDEFINE 1 used cagrilintide alone at a dose of 2.4 mg, or semaglutide 2.4 mg with cagrilintide 2.4 mg, plus lifestyle interventions over 68 weeks (REDEFINE 1, 2025), and REDEFINE 2 used once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (2.4 mg each) for 68 weeks in adults with type 2 diabetes (REDEFINE 2, 2025). A phase 1 pharmacokinetic study describes once-weekly cagrilintide gradually increased to 1.7 mg over 14 weeks and 2.4 mg subcutaneously for 2 weeks (NCT04940078).

What side effects were reported?

Gastrointestinal events dominate. In the phase 2 trial of cagrilintide alone, the most frequent adverse events were gastrointestinal disorders such as nausea, constipation and diarrhoea, plus administration-site reactions, with gastrointestinal events in 41%-63% of cagrilintide groups versus 32% on placebo (Lancet dose-finding trial, 2021). With the combination, gastrointestinal adverse events affected 79.6% versus 39.9% on placebo in REDEFINE 1 (REDEFINE 1, 2025) and 72.5% versus 34.4% in REDEFINE 2, mostly transient and mild or moderate (REDEFINE 2, 2025). A pooled analysis reported no increase in serious adverse events (CagriSema meta-analysis, 2026).

Does cagrilintide affect blood sugar?

In REDEFINE 2, 73.5% of patients receiving cagrilintide-semaglutide reached a glycated hemoglobin level of 6.5% or less versus 15.9% on placebo (REDEFINE 2, 2025). In REIMAGINE 1, both tested dose levels of cagrilintide-semaglutide lowered HbA1c significantly more than placebo at week 40 in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled with diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1, 2026). A pooled analysis of CagriSema trials described glycemic outcomes as heterogeneous while lipid parameters improved versus placebo (CagriSema meta-analysis, 2026). The fetched sources do not isolate glycaemic effects of cagrilintide alone.

Where Cagrilintide is prescribed

Any amount a prescriber writes for is their decision, made for one patient. These programs list Cagrilintide on their own sites; availability depends on the regulatory status above and on your state.

Disclosure: links marked sponsored below are affiliate links. If you sign up or buy through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not change what we list, how we rank it, or what the research pages say. How we make money.

Hone Health

Compounds
sermorelin, nad
Pricing
From $175/month. Published on honehealth.com at check time: sermorelin $175/month; other medications listed at $20 to $199/month plus membership. Membership is $25/month (Basic: labs every 6 months, consults purchased separately) or $155/month (Premium: labs, physician consults and medication access); the initial 50+ biomarker test is $65. State coverage is not stated on the pages we read, so it is recorded here as nationwide until confirmed.
States
All 50 states
Visit Hone Health

Plain link. We are not an affiliate of Hone Health at this time.

Our review of Hone Health →

Live Vital

Compounds
BPC-157, tb-500, wolverine, glow +6 more
Pricing
From $99/month. Published on livevital.io at check time: $99 to $299 per month depending on the peptide, sold as 10-week courses. GHK-Cu $99/month; BPC-157 and Wolverine $116/month; Glow, Klow and MOTS-c $149/month; tesamorelin $166/month. The 15-minute phone consult is free and HSA/FSA funds are accepted.io.
States
All 50 states
Visit Live Vital

Plain link. We are not an affiliate of Live Vital at this time.

Our review of Live Vital →

Midi Health

Compounds
semaglutide, tirzepatide
Pricing
From $164/month. Published on joinmidi.com at check time: Midi compounded GLP-1 and GLP-1/GIP from $164 per 4-week supply including shipping and supplies; visits are billed to insurance where in-network or $150 to $250 self-pay; brand-name GLP-1s are sent to a pharmacy of choice at the insurance price. A lower-strength weekly plan is advertised from $34 per week for eligible patients. The GLP-1 page notes that compounded products are not available in every state.
States
All 50 states
Visit Midi Health

Plain link. We are not an affiliate of Midi Health at this time.

Our review of Midi Health →

Sources

  1. 1.
    Coadministered Cagrilintide and Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity — The New England journal of medicine (2025)
    RCThumann=3417PMID 40544433DOI 10.1056/nejmoa2502081
  2. 2.
    Cagrilintide-Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes — The New England journal of medicine (2025)
    RCThumann=1206PMID 40544432DOI 10.1056/nejmoa2502082
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    Efficacy and Safety of CagriSema in Type 2 Diabetes: A Dose- and Comparator-Specific Systematic Review and Bayesian Meta-Analysis — Diabetes, obesity & metabolism (2026)
    Meta-analysishumann=4554PMID 42935221DOI 10.1111/dom.71485
  5. 5.
  6. 6.
  7. 7.
  8. 8.
    Design and baseline characteristics of the CagriSema cardiovascular outcomes trial (REDEFINE 3) — American heart journal (2026)
    RCThumann=7076PMID 42838477DOI 10.1016/j.ahj.2026.107626
  9. 9.
  10. 10.
  11. 11.
  12. 12.
  13. 13.
  14. 14.