Peptides Near Me
Side effects

BPC-157 side effects reported in studies

The 5 entries below are adverse events, or their absence, as 5 cited studies recorded them (1 in humans). Each row names the population the effect was seen in and links to the source.

This page reports what published studies found. It is not medical advice, no provider-patient relationship is created by reading it, and nothing here is a recommendation to use any compound. Talk with a licensed clinician about your own situation. Read the full disclaimer.

Regulatory status in the United States

Status reviewed September 16, 2026
FDA-approved drug
No. BPC-157 is not an FDA-approved drug for any use.
503A compounding
Recommended for 503A by FDA's advisory committee. FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted to recommend adding this substance to the 503A bulks list. FDA has not yet finalized that decision, so the recommendation is not a green light.
How it is obtained
Prescription required from a licensed prescriber, dispensed by a licensed pharmacy.

BPC-157 is not an FDA-approved drug for any use. At its meeting on July 23-24, 2026, FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted to recommend it for the section 503A bulk drug substances list. That vote is advisory and not binding: FDA decides whether the substance is added, and no final decision had been published at the review date. Where compounding proceeds, it requires a prescription from a licensed prescriber and preparation by a licensed pharmacy. Any lawful human use in the United States runs through a licensed prescriber and a licensed pharmacy. Products sold as "research use only" are not intended for human use. This status comes from the site's regulatory review, not from the studies cited on this page.

What the studies recorded

Adverse events, or their absence, as the cited studies recorded them in the populations they enrolled.
Reported effectContext in the studySource
No adverse events reportedIntravenous infusion in 2 healthy adults produced no measurable effects on tested biomarkers of heart, liver, kidney, thyroid or blood glucose, and participants questioned at each appointment reported no side effects.
No adverse events reportedA narrative review of the three existing human pilot studies (intraarticular knee pain, interstitial cystitis, intravenous safety and pharmacokinetics) reports no adverse effects, while noting that rigorous large-scale trials are lacking.
No clinical safety data identified; adverse effects considered possible from unregulated manufacturing or contaminationA systematic review of 36 studies found preclinical safety studies showed no adverse effects across several organ systems but located no clinical safety data, and stated adverse effects are possible due to unregulated manufacturing, contamination, or unknown clinical safety.
Few side effects reported across the reviewed literatureA 2025 literature and patent review describes a desirable safety profile with only a few side effects reported following administration, while noting the absence of sufficient clinical studies.
No reported toxicity in preclinical testing (LD1 not achieved)A wound-healing review states that no toxicity has been reported for the peptide and that an LD1 was not achieved.

How to read this table

A row that says no adverse events were reported means the study did not record any in the people or animals it followed, for as long as it followed them. Small pilots with days of follow-up cannot detect uncommon or delayed effects, and animal findings do not transfer to people. A study that did not look for an effect will not have reported one.

Effects listed here come only from the cited studies. Reports from clinics, vendors, or forums are not included because they cannot be checked against a stated population and method. The BPC-157 profile covers the same studies in context.

Frequently asked questions

What human evidence exists for BPC-157?

Very little. A systematic review of 36 included studies found 35 preclinical and one clinical study (HSS Journal systematic review, 2025), and a narrative review counted only three human pilot studies, covering intraarticular knee pain, interstitial cystitis, and intravenous safety and pharmacokinetics (Current Reviews in Musculoskeletal Medicine narrative review, 2025). The knee pain report was a retrospective chart review of 17 patients at one clinic, with outcomes collected by phone survey and no validated measurement tools (Alternative Therapies retrospective chart review, 2021).

What side effects have been reported with BPC-157?

In the two-person intravenous pilot study, no side effects were reported and no measurable changes appeared in tested heart, liver, kidney, thyroid or glucose biomarkers (Alternative Therapies intravenous pilot study, 2025). A review describes only a few side effects reported across the literature (BPC 157 literature and patent review, 2025), and a wound-healing review notes no reported toxicity with an LD1 not achieved (Frontiers in Pharmacology review, 2021). A systematic review found no clinical safety data at all and noted that adverse effects remain possible from unregulated manufacturing or contamination (HSS Journal systematic review, 2025).

How was BPC-157 given in published human studies and registered trials?

The published human safety pilot used intravenous infusion of 10 mg in 250 cc of normal saline over one hour on day 1 and 20 mg in 250 cc over one hour on day 2 in two adults (Alternative Therapies intravenous pilot study, 2025). The knee pain chart review used intraarticular injection (Alternative Therapies retrospective chart review, 2021). Registered trials use once-daily subcutaneous injection for 90 days after rotator cuff repair (NCT07803250) or for 14 days after hamstring strain (NCT07437547), and an earlier Phase 1 study used oral tablets containing 1 mg each (NCT02637284).

What is still unknown about BPC-157?

Almost everything that matters clinically: effective dose, optimal route, durability of any effect, and safety beyond a handful of participants. A scoping review concluded that claimed benefits for musculoskeletal recovery remain unsubstantiated by current human trials and that dosing and route varied widely across studies (American Journal of Sports Medicine scoping review, 2026). Reviews of regenerative peptides for chronic pain likewise note that most remain unapproved by the FDA with limited human evidence (Current Pain and Headache Reports review, 2026). Randomized placebo-controlled trials are registered but have not reported results (NCT07803250; NCT07437547).

Where BPC-157 is prescribed

A licensed prescriber can weigh these reports against your history. These programs list BPC-157 on their own sites; availability depends on the regulatory status above and on your state.

Disclosure: links marked sponsored below are affiliate links. If you sign up or buy through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not change what we list, how we rank it, or what the research pages say. How we make money.

Live Vital

Compounds
BPC-157, tb-500, wolverine, glow +6 more
Pricing
From $99/month. Published on livevital.io at check time: $99 to $299 per month depending on the peptide, sold as 10-week courses. GHK-Cu $99/month; BPC-157 and Wolverine $116/month; Glow, Klow and MOTS-c $149/month; tesamorelin $166/month. The 15-minute phone consult is free and HSA/FSA funds are accepted.io.
States
All 50 states
Visit Live Vital

Plain link. We are not an affiliate of Live Vital at this time.

Our review of Live Vital

Hone Health

Compounds
sermorelin, nad
Pricing
From $175/month. Published on honehealth.com at check time: sermorelin $175/month; other medications listed at $20 to $199/month plus membership. Membership is $25/month (Basic: labs every 6 months, consults purchased separately) or $155/month (Premium: labs, physician consults and medication access); the initial 50+ biomarker test is $65. State coverage is not stated on the pages we read, so it is recorded here as nationwide until confirmed.
States
All 50 states
Visit Hone Health

Plain link. We are not an affiliate of Hone Health at this time.

Our review of Hone Health

Midi Health

Compounds
semaglutide, tirzepatide
Pricing
From $164/month. Published on joinmidi.com at check time: Midi compounded GLP-1 and GLP-1/GIP from $164 per 4-week supply including shipping and supplies; visits are billed to insurance where in-network or $150 to $250 self-pay; brand-name GLP-1s are sent to a pharmacy of choice at the insurance price. A lower-strength weekly plan is advertised from $34 per week for eligible patients. The GLP-1 page notes that compounded products are not available in every state.
States
All 50 states
Visit Midi Health

Plain link. We are not an affiliate of Midi Health at this time.

Our review of Midi Health

Sources

  1. 1.
    Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study — Alternative therapies in health and medicine (2025)
    Human observationalhumann=2PMID 40131143
  2. 2.
    Regeneration or Risk? A Narrative Review of BPC-157 for Musculoskeletal Healing — Current reviews in musculoskeletal medicine (2025)
    ReviewPMID 40789979DOI 10.1007/s12178-025-09990-7
  3. 3.
    Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review — HSS journal : the musculoskeletal journal of Hospital for Special Surgery (2025)
    Reviewn=12PMID 40756949DOI 10.1177/15563316251355551
  4. 4.
    Multifunctionality and Possible Medical Application of the BPC 157 Peptide-Literature and Patent Review — Pharmaceuticals (Basel, Switzerland) (2025)
    ReviewPMID 40005999DOI 10.3390/ph18020185
  5. 5.
    Stable Gastric Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 and Wound Healing — Frontiers in pharmacology (2021)
    ReviewratPMID 34267654DOI 10.3389/fphar.2021.627533